Day: October 19, 2014

Diwali- a time for family!

The Traveller

India is a great nation and a land of festivals. We are so fortunate that we are born in a country that gives us so many festivals every year, so many chances to celebrate and spend time with our family and loved ones. Spending time with family is a bliss, always! Celebrating festivals with family is something really awesome. A man’s identity is naturally coupled with his family! You don’t choose your family. When you’re born, you’re born with a family! The concept of family is so natural and divine. A family is God’s gift to you!

The festival of Diwali is a festival of lights. Celebrating Diwali with family is just an amazing this. The festival of Diwali helps the family bond to become even stronger every year. From decorating the house to buying gifts for everyone, everything is a combined effort of all the family members. May it be the distribution of sweets or making preparations for the guests, the whole family makes all the arrangements together. After all, it’s a family festival!

Every Diwali spent with family is a special one! I still remember the year in which I was gifted a new bicycle by my parents as my Diwali gift. It was a really pleasant surprise. I was so proud of my new possession and it was really something I could brag about! My red colour ‘Hercules’ is standing alone these days, wrapped in dust and denial. Whenever I visit my hometown, I love staring at it, it takes me back the memory lane. Yes, that’s my time machine! These memories are just beautiful.

I still remember a few years back we spent the Diwali season playing a lot of games together. The whole family spent time together playing games. It was really fun and we learnt a lot of new games as well. May it be chess or taash (cards), we enjoyed each game to the fullest. That’s a beautiful thing about Diwali or about any festival for that matter, you get you spend time with your loved ones. You learn the most important values and the basic manners from your family. Thus, family is of cardinal importance. A family is like an umbrella that protects you from the rain (troubles). You should always thank God for the family you’re born in!

Spending Diwali with family is very important thing for me. These days I live about 400 miles away from my hometown. Still, I always try to be there in my hometown every Diwali. Your Diwali is sort of incomplete if you don’t celebrate it with your family and the loved ones. Try hard to get train reservations. Even if you don’t get a reservation, grab a waiting ticket and board the train! All your efforts are worth it! After all, it’s about celebrating Diwali with your family.

So make sure that you’re celebrating a Ghar Wali Diwali this year with your family.