Failure in the first Interview.



There are some things that are rather inexplicable. Crave for the first job is one of them. It’s like making a girl friend for the first time in life; you become desperate, nervous, and impatient and you wonder will you ever have a girl friend in your life! “Job”, this three letter word keeps driving you crazy. And when you see people around you getting what you call “placed”, it just adds salt to the wound. Jealously is indeed a bitch, keeps haunting you.

Some people say, it’s the social pressure or the family pressure, which makes students even more nervous and makes it even worse for them. But for me, the real pressure is all about proving ourselves and doing justice to our talent and capabilities. It may sound a bit prosaic, but there are many who are not that well blessed physically or mentally. Because in the end, what matters the most is “You”. Even the holy Gita says- “You are the world and the world is you!”

I was checking mails on that evening; suddenly I noticed a mail from the placement department of our college. The mail said- “a pool campus is going to take place at GL Bajaj, Greater Noida. Eligible students must reach the college latest by 9 am!” Normally, I used to shun the idea of going to any sort of pool campus or placement drive. But this time I decided to go, more to check where I actually stand. I had to arrange the dress, take out a few printouts of my resume and more importantly sacrifice my sleep and wake up early that morning (I didn’t sleep actually). I reached there on time and the first thought that struck my mind was- “It’s so bloody crowded, why the hell did I come here?”  Seeing so many engineers, I had already given up the hope of getting selected. Then we moved inside the classrooms for the written test, I cursed myself throughout the way for sacrificing my sleep. The written test had four parts; aptitude, English, essay writing, data interpretation. To be very candid, I hardly knew anything in the aptitude section, still I tried all the questions, as there was nothing like negative marking.

The result of the written test was out in about 45 minutes. I was mentally prepared that I would never be selected. But the result was a through contrast to my perception, I had cleared it. This fact made me stop cursing myself and it was at least worth something going there. The second round was a Group Discussion round. I knew deep inside, that this was something I was good at! All I had to do to clear the GD round was; speaking a few idiomatic expressions and quoting a few famous lines. So, the GD round was also cleared. We were called the next day for the technical and HR interviews.

The night preceding the interviews was a restless one. I was trying to study everything but ended studying nothing at all. I don’t think it is practically possible to learn languages like C, C++ or JAVA in a few hours, all I was able to learn was a mere alphabet “C”.  So the technical part was like Null. I woke up early in the morning and left for the interviews. After waiting for ages, the call for the interview came. I tell you one thing, even if you try your level best to show that- “You don’t care!”, the nervousness becomes clearly visible on your face. I went inside the room and became almost blank. You start taking the entire burden that time, you start remembering all the hopes and inspirations you have.  The interviewer was really cooperative, after 10 odd minutes it became a friendly discussion. I tried my level best to flaunt my English to the extreme extent. Ultimately, the interviewer said- “Okay, you are technically zero. So, to test your IQ level I am giving you a couple of puzzles. Solve them and move to room no. 225 for the HR round. ” Suddenly, I had a ray of hope, just two puzzles and I am in! But destiny played it cruel gain. I couldn’t solve any of the two puzzles. The brain just went blank for that time. You may be carrying a lot of “grey matter”, but it hardly matters, if it doesn’t click at the right time. Soon the interviewer said- “Okay, I am sorry, you can leave for the day.”

I came out of the room. It was really like walking out of a dream, back to this mundane world. It was like; I was so near- yet so bloody far! It’s the fear that makes things worse for us I guess, the fear of loosing. Unless the mind is absolutely free from fear, every form of action brings about more mischief, more misery, and more confusion.  Whatever it was, the experience was really special. Failure leads to success; let’s see what we have in store for us!

3 comments

  1. Awesome..This failure of yours also gives some people motivation to take the first step ahead..ie ; atleast go for the “pool campus”..:p..You never know which day may tend to be lucky for “YOU”..:)

  2. a high quality writer’s note …….fab ………made me remember my dayz of failure ……..i.e.top class prep but was’nt able to make it up to my dream collg ……..but upon reading this i can smell that u l be doing something very different frm d rest of d others …….including me …….

Leave a Reply

